Jazz Composition – Occupy EP by Collin Shook Trio

Posted on by

MEDIA ROOTS – This is a beautiful jazz ensemble all recorded live with no cuts by the Collin Shook Trio.  Inspired by the Occupy Wall Street Movement, the jazz musicians decided to make an EP dedicated to OWS activism and the spirit of revolution.  It’s an amazing and especially inspiring EP considering the intent and the meaning behind each song.  Please take a listen and consider supporting musicians who choose to use their incredible talents to reflect the spirit of the time.



CS: This tune was born in November of 2011. I had written a 2 movement piece called #Occupy after perusing #OccupyTucson for a few days. Only then did I finally put this one down to paper. I named it Derivatives, partly because they are a major part of the economic recession which stemmed the #Occupy Movement.

CS: Prelude To Occupation is a tune we composed as a part of a 3-Piece Suite that expresses a sense of wandering, stirring energy.  With a repetitive theme, it explains the building energy of the same-old same-old things happening over and over again, just like the elite continually taking profits off the top of all commerce in the US and pocketing it, leaving the working class unable to stay ahead.

CS: #Occupy: Movement 1 is a ballad that embodies the lull and complacency that takes place before a public reaction. It’s the gathering energy and whispers in the dark that stir up the masses and spread information.  From the prelude to Movement 1, it shows the dissipation of action and is the quiet before the storm.

#Occupy: Movement 2 is the current embodiment of the uprising. The bass solo at the top of the song is in alignment with the slow start to the movement. Once the band drops in, the pushing 3 chord, break-beat feel creates momentum.

Each change to the bridge is riding the wave of little pockets of demonstrations springing up all over, then returning to the constant motion of the A section. Each B section gets more and more dissonant and finally ends with an unresolved tonality, expressing the unfinished motives of the #occupy Movement.


This is a live recording from Skybar in Tucson AZ on April 2nd, 2012. 

From #Occupy EP, released 12 April 2012
Collin Shook – Composer and Keyboards
Dylan DeRobertis – Bass
Matt Pirc – Drums
Recorded With 2 Mics and Reaper DAW



Leave a Reply


  • Free Children of Earth: Radical Critique and Loud Guitars
  • Superman Stands Up to the Corporate Media
  • American Military Cinema and Its Shaping of History
  • Thievery Corp: Don’t Succumb to this Culture of Fear

  • Media Roots Radio: The White Hat Svengali of Video Comedy, Doug Lussenhop aka DJ Douggpound
  • Media Roots Radio: Justice League Snyder Cut, Batfleck’s CIA Boost & Liz Warren Granny Goodness w/Leslie Lee III
  • Media Roots Radio: Robbie’s Top Political Films Countdown
  • Media Roots Radio: Glass Film Review, the Unbreakable Trilogy & the Disneyfication of Culture w/ Leslie Lee III
  • Abby Martin Presents 2018 Motherfucker Award for Fire to PG&E
  • Media Roots Radio: Midterm Elections, Fahrenheit 11/9, Afghanistan War 17th Anniversary
  • Free Children of Earth: Radical Critique and Loud Guitars
  • Persian and Experimental Electronic Music with Ata Ebtekar aka Sote
  • Media Roots Music – ATOP Mix Farewell to BTS
  • Immortal Technique: A Revolutionary Artist Fusing the Lyrical & the Political
  • Art is a Reflection of the Soul – Abby Martin Speaks at the Zeitgeist Media Festival
  • Moby: Make Information Free & Stop Punishing Piracy
  • Samsara, Baraka – Visual Masterpieces
  • MR Poetry – ‘Cut the Apron Strings’ & ‘Island’
  • Superman Stands Up to the Corporate Media